MEET THE PARTNERS

Ethnistory is a new concept for discovering the heart of a country – whether staying there on holiday or living there in retirement. That country is Morocco and southern Morocco in particular, a region that extends from the desert border to the interior.

The concept of "Ethnistory" is the brainchild of Eric Ossart and Arnaud Maurières, two Mediterranean enthusiasts who settled in Taroudant, Morocco in 1998 after working their way along the Mediterranean coast (France, Spain, Tunisia, Egypt, Lebanon, Syria and the Yemen). Their work builds on a thoughtful, "holistic" approach to Mediterranean living that is the defining mark of every project they have undertaken. It's present in their garden designs (including many public gardens); in their study of rustic pottery (which in 2002 led to the opening of the

Mediterranean Pottery Museum in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie, Gard department); in their collection of handcrafted textiles (acquired in 2008 by the Musée Bargoin in Clermont Ferrand, Puy-de-Dôme department); and in their rammed-earth buildings (starting in 2002 with a house in Taroudant, commissioned by the former empress of Iran, Farah Pahlavi). Eric and Arnaud’s achievements have been feted in international print and broadcast media, cited in reference works and celebrated in large-scale exhibitions in major museums.

THE CREATION OF A LOCAL SKILLS NETWORK
As a holistic development project, Ethnistory promotes the pooling of local expertise – the creation of a local "skills network", supervised by Eric and Arnaud, in which everyone gets a fair reward for their efforts. Whether craftsman, guide or woman weaver, everyone shares the credit – and the profits.
It has taken Eric and Arnaud nearly fifteen years to get the Ethnistory concept off the ground. Fifteen experience-packed years – making new contacts, learning new trades, building confidence, building success. The reward for that commitment today is a solid network of skilled, reliable workers who put a job well done before ambition.
And on that note, it is time now to meet the Ethnistory team.
Ali Mahdine and Abdeslam Sadek are the project managers in charge of building Ossart & Maurières’ rammed-earth houses. They are ably assisted by a team of master craftsmen, aiming for a result that blends the traditional with the modern.
Christine Alléon, in Agadir, and Sadek Tazzi, in Marrakech, are the two dedicated horticulturalists who supply the plants for our gardens – each plant specially adapted to withstand the arid conditions in southern Morocco.
Lahcen Aït Khouya is our driver and desert guide. He speaks Berber, Moroccan Arabic, French, English and Spanish – but mainly he speaks from his heart. He is a son of the desert and most particularly HIS OWN desert – you could ask for no better guide to this place.
Touda Boumrour and her daughters welcome visitors to their home in Merzouga – unforgettable hospitality, with tasty, traditional food to match. They also weave many of the carpets that hang in our rammed-earth houses.

For more information, or to view the programmes featuring Ossart & Maurières’s designs, visit their site www.maurieres-ossart.com

RENCONTREZ NOS PARTENAIRES

Ethnistory est un concept original pour découvrir un pays en profondeur, pour y vivre pleinement le temps de ses vacances ou celui, plus long, de sa retraite. Ce pays, c’est le Maroc, et plus particulièrement le sud du Maroc, aux confins et à l’intérieur du désert.

Ce concept a été élaboré par deux passionnés, Eric Ossart et Arnaud Maurières, qui ont travaillé dans l’ensemble du bassin méditerranéen ( France, Espagne,Tunisie, Egypte, Liban, Syrie et Yémen) avant de s’installer définitivement au Maroc, à Taroudant, en 1998. Leur travail est une approche sensible et globale de la vie en Méditerranée : création de jardins (dont plusieurs sont ouverts au public), étude des céramiques rurales (leur collection a permis la création du Musée de la poterie méditerranéenne à Saint-Quentin-la-poterie dans le Gard en 2002), collecte

de textiles usuels (l’ensemble de leurs textiles a été acquis par le Musée Bargoin à Clermont Ferrand en 2008) et construction de maison en terre (ils ont construit leur première maison à Taroudant pour l’ancienne impératrice d’Iran, Farah Pahlavi, en 2002). De nombreuses publications dans la presse internationale, des expositions majeures, des ouvrages de référence et même plusieurs émissions télévisées ont déjà témoigné de leur travail exemplaire.

UNE MISE EN AVANT ET EN RÉSEAU DE COMPÉTENCES LOCALES
Outre son approche globale, la qualité essentielle de Ethnistory, est une mise en avant et en réseau de compétences locales que Eric et Arnaud supervisent sans s’en attribuer seuls ni le mérite… ni les bénéfices. Ce sont les artisans, les guides, les tisserandes qui profitent de leur propre travail.
Il a fallu presque 15 ans pour aboutir à la création d’Ethnistory. Quinze années d’expériences, riches et nourries de rencontres, d’apprentissage de métiers différents, de confiance, de réussite. Aujourd’hui cet engagement est récompensé par la création d’un réseau solide de personnes compétentes et attentives pour qui le travail est une passion avant d’être une ambition.
Il est donc temps de vous présenter l’équipe d’Ethnistory….
Ali Mahdine et Abdeslam Sadek sont les maîtres d’œuvre des maisons en terre que dessinent Ossart & Maurières. Ils sont aidés par de nombreux artisans qui mettent tout leur savoir-faire dans la réalisation de ces maisons à la fois traditionnelles et contemporaines.
Christine Alléon, à Agadir, et Sadek Tazzi, à Marrakech, sont les pépiniéristes passionnés qui produisent les plantes pour nos jardins, créés pour supporter le climat aride du sud marocain.
Lahcen Aït Khouya est le chauffeur et guide des voyages dans le désert. Il parle le berbère, l’arabe marocain, le français, l’anglais et l’espagnol. Mais surtout il parle avec son cœur : il est non seulement fils des sables, il est aussi amoureux de SON désert qu’il vous fera découvrir comme personne.
Touda Boumrour et ses filles accueillent les voyageurs dans leur maison de Merzouga avec une gentillesse inoubliable (et une cuisine typique et savoureuse) et tissent bon nombre des tapis qui décorent nos maisons de terre.

Enfin, pour mieux connaître les réalisations de Ossart & Maurières, rendez vous sur leur site www.maurieres-ossart.com